• Winter Pow Wow
  • Turkey Toms
  • Beadwork 1
  • SI Ferry
  • Smoked Fish
  • Beadwork 2
Quick Access

Fitness Challenge Participants sign up for your post challenge assessments this week. Post assessments will be held on Friday March 30, 6:30 a.m.-8 p.m. You've put in the work, now it’s time to be rewarded!!

The top four finishers receive some great prizes and you can choose:
4th place: Free fitness class punch card or one month membership
3rd place: Two free one hour massages or three month membership
2nd place: Three free personal training sessions or six month membership
Grand prize: Overnight stay and dinner for two at any of the Kewadin Casino hotels and restaurants or one year membership

For questions call the All-In-One Fitness Club at 906-635-4935

Great News! Registration for Spring League is now open! The hockey league will run April 9 to May 17 and is for birth years 2004-2013. Click this link https://www.regonline.com/builder/site/?eventid=2174500 and register today. We accept Mastercard, Visa, Discover and Sault Tribe Payroll Deduct. Registration is filled on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Registration deadline is March 29 at 8 p.m. Please register your child in the correct birth year, all exceptions must be approved via email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. If you have any questions about the registration process, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Come learn how to make maple syrup in the traditional way on Sugar Island March 26‑28 during spring break at the Mary Murray Cultural Camp for ages 8-18. Participants will need to bring the following: warm clothes, bedding and toiletries.

We will be outside most of the days so please be sure your child has appropriate winter gear: heavy coat, snow pants, boots, mittens and hat. 

Children who are not appropriately dressed for weather conditions will not be able to participate in outdoor activities.

If you need a ride to camp, meet at the Niigaanagiizhik Ceremonial Bldg. at 1:15 p.m. on Monday, March 26. Participants can be picked up March 28 at 11:45 a.m. 

Permission are slips available by contacting Jackie Minton at 635-6050 or you can stop by the Sault Tribe Administration Office located at 523 Ashmun. You can also get permission slips through the intranet and any YEA Coordinator.

The Sault Tribe Housing Authority opens for applications for the Weatherization Program beginning on April 2, 2018.

The program provides energy conservation improvements for homeowners in need of repairs or replacements to improve the energy efficiency of their homes. Descriptions of services to include repair or replacement of roofs, windows and exterior doors; air-sealing measures such as weather stripping and caulking; and insulation of pipes, skirting and roof or attic areas.

Qualifying applicants must be households of Sault Tribe members who reside in the seven-county service area, meet income guidelines and own the homes and lands where improvements would take place. Trust land leases accepted.

Please call Jamie Harvey with the Homeownership Program at 906-495-1450 or 800-794-4072.

Sault Tribe’s Conservation Committee will meet in the Sault Kewadin and Convention Center on Monday, March 19, at 5 p.m. On the agenda, from the Fisheries Dept., is Fisher ID Dispute, Small mesh procedures, small mesh reports, harbor access rules and spring fingerling walleye stocking. Items from Wildlife Dept. are regulatory changes, fines restitution and pine martin bag limits. Also under New Business are the items “Budget” and “Vice Chairperson.” The committee will hear Reports from Legal, Law Enforcement, Fisheries and Wildlife departments.

Do you LOVE to dance? If your answer is YES then why not try out a GROOVE Dance fitness class?
★ Simple movements every BODY can do!
★ Dance like nobody's watching!
★ You cannot get this wrong because your way is the right way!
★ You are unique and are supposed to look different!
★ NO ONE can do it for you, so do something positive for yourself!


Join Paula Finfrock (official GROOVE facilitator) at the Chi Mukwa Community Recreation Center in Sault Ste. Marie in March on Mondays, 5:30-6:30 p.m., and Saturdays, 9-10 a.m. During April, we dance on Mondays and Wednesdays, 5:30-6:30 p.m. and Saturdays, 9-10 a.m.

Cost: $5 drop in fee

For more information, visit www.theworldgroovemovement.com or contact Paula Finfrock at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 906-630-4287.

© 2018 - Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians. All Rights Reserved.

Photo by Ken Bosma / CC BY