Quick Access

At its May 31 special meeting, the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians Board of Directors approved resolution 2023-190, voiding the 2023 Special Advisory Election held March 20, 2023. The board directed the Election Committee to issue a Notice of Election within 30 days for a new Special Advisory Election to fill the current vacant Unit I Board of Directors seat.

Resolution 2023-190 states:
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Directors amends Tribal Code Chapter 10 Election Ordinance at Section 10.108(1) as follows:

10.108 Tribal Election Committee.
(1) All elections held pursuant to this Chapter shall be administered by the Election Committee subject to review of the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors shall appoint each member of the Election Committee. The Election Committee shall consist of thirteen (13) members. The Board of Directors shall appoint a chairperson of the Election Committee from the Committee’s own membership. No person shall be appointed who is currently holding elective office. Any member of the Election Committee shall be ineligible for tribal elective office unless he resigns from the Election Committee at least six (6) months before the election deadline. The Election Committee shall establish its own administrative procedures subject to the approval of the Board of Directors and may not delegate its authority. The Committee may assign specific tasks or duties as necessary to carry out ministerial tasks or duties, consistent with the Constitution and this Chapter.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors hereby declares the ongoing 2023 Special Election to be void and orders the Election Committee to within thirty days post a Notice of Election for a subsequent Special Election to fill the current vacant Unit I Board of Directors seat.

The motion to approve the resolution was made by Unit I Director Betty Freiheit, seconded by Unit I Director Robert McRorie. Directors voting "yes" were Freiheit and McRorie, Unit II Director Kimberly Lee, Unit III Directors Shawn Borowicz, Unit IV Director Kimberly Hampton and Unit V Director Tyler LaPlaunt. Voting "no" were Unit I Director Michael McKerchie, Unit II Director Lana Causley-Smith, Unit III Director Bridgett Sorenson, and Unit IV Director Darcy Morrow. Unit I Director Isaac McKechnie abstained.

© 2024 - Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians. All Rights Reserved.

Photo by Ken Bosma / CC BY