FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE APRIL 26, 2018

Sault Tribe official candidate list released

SAULT STE. MARIE — Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians official candidate list for its Board of Directors 2018 election was released by the tribe's Election Committee today, April 26. Only Units I and III will hold a Primary Election. Voting in Units II, IV and V will take place during the General Election.

Primary ballots will be mailed May 3. Deadline for completed ballots to return to the tribe is May 24. General Election ballots will be mailed to the membership on June 7.

No incumbent is running in Unit V since Unit V Director Anita Nelson has decided not to run. Read about all the candidates in the Candidates' Forum starting on page 14 of May's Win Awenen Nisitotung. The online edition will be posted to saulttribe.com April 30 and the print edition will begin hitting mailboxes May 2.

Certified candidates are (in alphabetical order with the incumbent italicized):

Unit I — Nichole Causley, Charles Cook Sr., Betty Freiheit, *Kimberle Gravelle*, *DJ Hoffman*, George Parish, Beverly Goetz-MacLaren

Unit II — Paul Barbeaux, Catherine Hollowell

Unit III - Geraldine Brow, William Colegrove, Keith Massaway, Thomas Paquin

Unit IV — Denise Chase, Lacey Kinnart

Unit V — Tyler LaPlaunt, Charles Matson Sr.