#### BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING KEWADIN CASINO AND CONVENTION CENTER SAULT STE. MARIE, MICHIGAN MINUTES MARCH 8, 2011

The meeting was opened at 6:03 p.m. by Chairman McCoy.

Present: Joe Eitrem, Bernard Bouschor, DJ Malloy, Debra Pine, Lana Causley, Catherine Hollowell, Pat Rickley, Keith Massaway, Tom Miller, Joan Anderson, Joe McCoy.

Absent: Cathy Abramson, Denise Chase.

-

Moved by Director Massaway, supported by Director Rickley, to excuse Directors Abramson and Chase from the meeting.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Miller, supported by Director Massaway, to approve the agenda as written.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Miller, supported by Director Massaway, to suspend the rules and add to the agenda and delete from the agenda the following: delete Amending Promotion Policy, Chapter 72, Policy and Procedure Manual for Ch. 72 (2 versions), and the MOU for Ch. 72; adding to the agenda – the res.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried with Directors Massaway, Malloy, Miller, Eitrem, Rickley, Causley, Pine, Anderson, Bouschor approving, Director Hollowell opposing.

Moved by Director Eitrem, supported by Director Rickley, to approve Res. 2011-46, IRR Inventory Revisions/Additions.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians hereby requests that the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) add the above-cited revisions and additions of roads to the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians IRR Inventory.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Chairman or his designee, is authorized and directed to execute and deliver such agreements, documents, or instruments to the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) as may be required or to take any and all such action which may be necessary to implement the foregoing and update the Tribal Long Range Transportation Plan approved by Resolution NO. 2010-278.

#### Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Rickley, supported by Director Causley, to approve Res. 2011-47, In Support of Addition of a Representation of a Native American to the Current Three Servicemen Statue at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial.

1

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of the Tribe hereby calls upon the inited States of America, and the National Park Service to include a Native American soldier, along with the African American, Asian, and Caucasian soldier currently represented on the National Mall located in Our Nation's Capital.

E IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Board of Directors of the Tribe supports the efforts of Native American Veteran Mitchell Cypress, and the Seminole Tribe of Florida, to petition the United States of America for this inclusion.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors hereby directs the Chairman of the Tribe, or his designee, to take such reasonable steps as are necessary to ensure that the United States of America and the National Park Service are aware of the Tribe's support for the representation of a Native American within the current Three Servicemen Statue at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial on the National Mall.

#### Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

# Moved by Director Miller, supported by Director Hollowell, to approve Res. 2011-48, Audit Committee, Tribal Operations FY 2011 Budget Modification.

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians here by approves the FY 2011 budget modification to Tribal Operations for an increase in Tribal Support monies of \$50,000.00. These funds will be used for an internal audit committee.

#### Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

### Moved by Director Massaway, supported by Director Rickley, to approve Res. 2011-49, Education – Head Start BIA, FY 2011 Budget Modifications.

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians here by approves the FY 2011 budget modification for Head Start BIA for an increase in Federal BIA monies of \$83,615.17. This budget modification reflects changes to the personnel sheet and the allocation of the increased funding.

#### Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

# Moved by Director Miller, supported by Director Pine, to approve Res. 2011-50, Amending Promotion Policy.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors approves and reenacts the governmental Promotion Policy, as attached, beginning in Calendar Year 2011.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors approves and reenacts the casino Promotion Policy, as attached, beginning in Calendar Year 2011.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors approves and reenacts the enterprise Promotion Policy, as attached, beginning in Calendar Year 2011.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Board of Directors hereby authorizes and approves any promotions that were made between January 1, 2011 and March 8, 2011, in accordance with and pursuant to Resolution 2010-253.

#### Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Causley, supported by Director Hollowell, to appoint Sheryl McKerchie, to the Child Velfare Committee, her term expiring March 2015.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

### Minutes 3-8-2011

Moved by Director Bouschor, supported by Director Miller, to appoint Director Malloy to the Child Welfare Committee, for a one year term, term expiring March 2012.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously with the exception of Director Mallov abstaining.

Moved by Director Causley, supported by Director Eitrem, to a appoint Charles Wilson, Lenora Kerridge, Emmet Vallier, Marilyn McArthur, and Arnold Frazier, to the Unit 2 Naubinway Elders Subcommittee, for 4 year terms, expiring March 2015.

**Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.** 

Moved by Director Massaway, supported by Director Rickley, to appoint Lawrence Leveille and Darlene Belleville, to the Unit 3 Elder Subcommittee, for 4 year terms, expiring March 2015.

**Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.** 

Moved by Director Rickley, supported by Director Malloy, to appoint the following to the Inland and Great Lakes Conservation Committees, with the number of term years next to their names: Inland Committee: Robert Derusha - 4; Henry Grondin-4; Cecil Pavlat Sr.-2; Robin Clark - 4; Jennifer Dale-Burton-2; Billy Perry-4; Gary Derwin-2; Chip MacArthur – 4; and Clarence Hudak-2. Great Lakes Committee: (3 Large/3 Small/3Any ): Paul Barbeaux – Large – 2; Ralph Wilcox – Large – 4; Joel Peterson - Large-4; Jason Grondin - Small- 4; Albert LaBlance - Large-2; Jim Preseau - Large-2; eremy Loebach – Small – 4; David King – Large – 4; Charles Matson – Small – 2.

**Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.** 

Moved by Director Miller, supported by Director Massaway, to adjourn the meeting.

#### Motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned: 6:30 p.m.

Date: 8-9-11 Secretary: Cathygbramson

Others present: Bill Connolly, Aaron Schlehuber, Richard Rand, Kristi Harwood, Tony Goetz, Bonnie Culfa, Courtney Kachur, Alexis Lambros, Carol Eavou, Joanne Carr.

