BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING KEWADIN CASINO AND CONVENTION CENTER SAULT STE. MARIE, MICHIGAN **MINUTES**

OCTOBER 5, 2010

The meeting was opened at 6:18 p.m. by Chairman McCoy.

Present: Cathy Abramson, Bernard Bouschor, Deb Pine, DJ Malloy, Lana Causley, Pat Rickley, Keith Massaway, Denise Chase, Tom Miller, Joan Anderson, Joe McCov.

Absent: Joe Eitrem – sick, Catherine Hollowell- husband had surgery.

Moved by Director Miller, supported by Director Massaway, to excuse Directors Eitrem, Hollowell from the meeting.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Massaway, supported by Director Malloy, to approve the agenda as written.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Massaway, supported by Director Miller, to suspend the rules and add the following to the agenda: Chapter 20 resolution; BIA Land Claims resolution; under new business - ACFS and Elder Directors, Risk Committee appointment; and to also take off the cultural policy manual resolution.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Abramson, supported by Director Bouschor, to approve Resolution 2010-219, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) FY 2010 Community Development Block Grant Program for Indian Tribes and Alaska Native Villages.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians hereby authorizes the Chairman of the Tribe, or his designee, to make application for the Indian Community Development Block Grant, administered by HUD, in an amount not to exceed \$600,000.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians hereby confirms that the requirements of 24 CFR 1003.604(a) have been met by the Housing Authority. That all comments have been considered and any modifications to the proposed application have been made.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Rickley, supported by Director Miller, to approve Resolution 2010-220, Amending Tribal Code Chapter 20: Great Lakes and St. Mary's River Treaty Fishing Regulations.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that on September 28, 2010, Tribal Code Chapter 20: Great Lakes and St. Mary's River Treaty Fishing Regulations was amended by deleting the following Section 102(8)(b), which reads "No license renewed by a licensed fisherman shall authorize the size of a larger boat than licensed the previous year. Section 102 (8) (b) will now read:

No small boat license shall be increased to a large boat license unless in accordance with the 2000 Great Lakes Consent Decree. A small boat shall be defined as a boat with a total length of 25 feet or less; a arge boat shall be defined as a boat with a total length greater than 25 feet.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried with Directors Miller, Pine, Rickley, Bouschor, Causley, Massaway, Malloy approving, Directors Abramson, Anderson, Chase opposing.

Minutes 10-5-2010

Moved by Director Causley, supported by Director Massaway, to approve Resolution 2010-221, acceptance of Tribal Share of Residual Interest of BIA Administered Trust Funds.

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians Board of Directors agrees to the distribution of residual interest funds, in the Michigan Land Claims Settlement fund, agreeing and accepting \$13,512.00 as the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe's share of said funds.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Abramson, supported by Director Chase, to accept the recommendations of the Selection Committee and hire Juanita Bye as ACFS Director and Sheryl Hammock as Elder Director.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Director Causley, supported by Director Miller, to appoint Richard Rand, HR Director, to the Risk Committee.

Roll Call Vote: Motion carried unanimously.

Presentation: National Indian Health Board Award to Connie Hill, Traditional Food Projects and Lisa Burnside/Jill King for the Youth Council.

Moved by Director Miller, supported by Director Massaway, to adjourn the meeting.

Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned: 6:46 p.m.		
Date:	Secretary:	Cally Framson

Others present: Tara Benoit, Tom Dorwin, Bob Marchand, Joni Talentino, Bonnie Culfa, Carol Eavou, Joanne Carr.